top of page

Thinking Of Getting Certified In French Language?

Updated: Sep 23, 2020

I believe there are two types of French language learners, those who want to learn French for personal and cultural reasons (i.e travel, adventure, bucket list) and those who need it for professional purposes (i.e career advancement, job placement e.t.c)

If you fall in the second category, then you may need to take a French language proficiency certification test. Your new bosses will have to confirm you really can hold a conversation in French and not just dabble your way around ''bonjour, comment ça va?''and then everything just vanishes.

Here are a list of French Language Certification exams recognized by the French Ministry of Education





Exams for French Students & Workers



TCF pour DAP

TCF for Quebec



TEF Canada

TEF for Quebec


D.U FLE/Master 1 FLE

Don't get scared, you don't need to write all of these exams, some may not even apply to you.

So let's break down the ones you need to know.

Exams for Kids & Teens

DELF PRIM (Ages 8-12)

Diplôme d'Études en Langue Française PRIM is an official diploma awarded by the French Ministry of Education to certify the proficiency in French as a Foreign Language of children from ages 8 to 12.

Specially formulated for children, DELF Prim is composed of individual certificates and is divided into three levels: DELF Prim A1.1, DELF Prim A1 and DELF Prim A2, corresponding to the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR).

You may ask, why bother take the Delf Prim?

It's a great way to show your child he/she is gaining grounds in his/her study of French language. It also serves as their easiest proof of bilingualism.


The exam topics are made to suit the age group’s interest: immediate environment (family, personal details, interests, friends), everyday situations, etc.

The following linguistic skills will be assessed:

1. Listening Comprehension 2. Reading Comprehension 3. Written Expression 4. Oral Expression/Interaction

Each candidate needs to obtain at least 50 points out of 100 in all four exam skills mentioned above to earn a diploma.

DELF JUNIOR (ges 13+)

A specially adapted version for juniors/teenagers of the DELF diplomas. DELF (Diplôme d' Études  en Langue Française) is an official qualification awarded by the French Ministry of Education to certify the competency of candidates from outside France in the French language.

Order for any of these now at


DELF (Diplôme d'Etudes en Langue Française) and DALF (Diplôme Approfondi de Langue Française) are official qualifications awarded by the French Ministry of Education to certify the competency of candidates from outside France in the French language.

The Delf is made for everyone learning the French language from 18 to 77 (or more) who wishes to validate officially and sustainably their learning of the French language. It is divided into 4 levels: A1, A2, B1 and B2.

DALF targets both students and professionals. It is divided into 2 levels: C1 and C2, the highest levels. DALF C1 and C2 form the best diplomas of French language. The acquisition of a DALF proves that you have gained mastery of the French language.

These certificates are valid for life.


Test d’Evaluation de Français was created in 1998 by the French Language Centre of the CCI Paris Ile-de- France, the TEF (Test d’Evaluation de Français) is an international benchmark test that measures your level of knowledge and skills in French language.

Why take the TEF?

To study in France (TEF Study in France)

To obtain the French citizenship (TEF for Naturalization)

To Immigrate to Canada and to obtain the Canadian citizenship (TEF Canada)

To immigrate to Quebec (TEFAQ)

To certify one’s level of French at work, to assess the employees’ level of French through recruitment, to position students for training or for study abroad, etc.


The TEF is conducted electronically (computer-based) or in print. No prior degree is required to sit the exam. The candidate must 16 years and up.

The goal of TEF is to evaluate the French skills of the candidate using a scale of 7 levels that range from 0+ level ( basic skills) to level 6 ( complete control ). This scale refers to:

• 6 skill levels A1 to C2 of the Common European Framework for Languages (CEFR) of the Council of Europe

• 12 Canadian Language Benchmarks (NCLC-niveaux de compétence linguistique canadiens).

1 test in 5 parts:

3 written tests:

• Reading Comprehension 60 min – 50 items – 300 points

• Written Expression 60 min – 2 topics to complete – 450 points

• Vocabulary and Structures 30 min – 40 items – 240 points

2 oral tests:

• Listening Comprehension 40 min – 60 items – 360 points

• Oral Expression 15 min – 2 topics to complete – 450 points

There you have it, all you need to know on the the delf/dalf/Tef examinations.

Remember, if you need to get Exam preparatory materials for these tests, simply browse through our online bookstore and order for one

OR visit our physical bookstore at 79, Awolowo Way, Trinity Mall, Ikeja, Lagos.


1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment

Stephen Macaulay
Stephen Macaulay
Apr 25, 2022

Je trouve votre redaction très utile, très genial. Je suis professeur de français et je souhaite m'inscrire au DAEFLE, je ne sais pas comment je vais demarrer.

bottom of page